Gazi Tank maintain top position with big win

Gazi Tank Cricketers consolidated their position at the top of the Dhaka Premier Division Super League with a six-wicket win over Prime Bank Cricket Club. It was their ninth win, keeping them two points ahead of Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club and Mohammedan Sporting Club, who are on 16 points.

It wasn't an easy ride for Gazi Tank, however, as Prime Bank threatened to post a total higher than the eventual 247 for 8. Prime Bank's Saikat Ali and Shehan Jayasuriya added 81 for the third wicket after which Ravi Bopara did the bulk of the scoring. The England batsman made 95 off 81 balls with five fours and as many sixes. Saikat made 60 off 98 balls with four boundaries and a couple of sixes. Arafat Sunny took three wickets while there was one each for Rubel Hossain, Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam jnr and Ashar Zaidi.

Gazi Tank's chase was built on partnerships: 48 for the first wicket between Imrul Kayes and Aftab Ahmed, 37 for the second wicket between Aftab and Eoin Morgan and another 31 for the fourth between Morgan and Gazi Tank captain, Mahmudullah. The Gazi Tank captain and a belligerent Ryan ten Doeschate then took them home with an unbroken 127-run stand with both batsmen scoring brisk fifties. Ten Doeschate was the star of the show with six sixes in his 60-ball 68.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club leapt to second place with a dominating six-wicket win over Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club in a high-scoring match.

Mushfiqur Rahim and Steven Crook struck hundreds as Dhanmondi successfully chased down a challenging 305-run target with four overs to spare. Mushfiqur, the club captain, was unbeaten on 145 off 118 balls with 12 fours and five sixes while Crook slammed seven fours and six sixes in his 84-ball 100. The pair added 189 runs for the fourth wicket, effectively winning Dhanmondi the game.

Earlier, Joshua Cobb's 123 and Dawid Malan's half-century set up a big total for Doleshwar. Cobb's 130-ball innings was laden with ten fours and five sixes and he added 132 runs for the fourth wicket with Malan.

Mohammedan Sporting Club made light work of Kalabagan Cricket Academy's challenge, beating them by 76 runs at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium.

Samit Patel turned in an all-round performance, scoring 86 and taking 3 for 25 to win the Man-of-the-Match award. Samit's innings, along with contributions from Asghar Stanikzai (38) and Rahmat Shah (33), helped Mohammedan make 226-9 in 50 overs. Left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam took three wickets.

KCA's reply, however, wasn't good as they were bowled out for 150 runs in 40.1 overs. Opener Avishek Mitra scored 51 - the only big innings - as Patel's three wickets sunk them further. Rahmat Shah's leg spin fetched him two wickets.