Maharashtra 337 for 4 (Jadhav 175*, Khadiwale 107, Ravi Kiran 2-58) v Hyderabad

A third-wicket stand of 206 between Harshad Khadiwale and Kedar Jadhav propelled Maharashtra to a mammoth 337 for 4 against Hyderabad, as the visitors wrested the advantage at the end of the first day.

Khadiwale and Jadhav both scored centuries, as the pair batted out 53.5 overs to help Maharashtra overcome a shaky start that saw the opener Chirag Khurana and Vijay Zol both dismissed by medium-pacer Ravi Kiran inside 10 overs.

Khadiwale's 11th first-class ton included 15 fours and a six, but he was eventually caught behind for 107 by the keeper Habib Ahmed off Amol Shinde in the 64th over. Jadhav however carried on the scoring and remained unbeaten at 175 - his fifth century in first-class cricket. He blasted 24 fours and a six during his knock, as Maharashtra finished the day strongly.

Tripura 136 for 9 (Takawale 45, Warrier 3-27) v Kerala

Medium-pacer Sandeep Warrier spearheaded an incisive bowling performance from Kerala that helped the team restrict Tripura to 136 for 9 at the end of day one in Kannur.

Warrier picked up the three top-order scalps of KB Pawan, Samrat Singha and Abhijit Dey, which left Tripura rattled, and ultimately, unable to recover from, as they continued to lose wickets at regular intervals.

Tripura offered some brief resistance when Yogesh Takawale and Manisankar Murasingh put up a partnership of 51 for the sixth wicket, but Murasingh was caught by Vinoop Manoharan off his own bowling in the 57th over, and soon after, Takawale departed for 45, leaving the team in a dire situation.

K Sreejith, Prasanth Parameswaran and Manoharan notched two wickets each as Kerala seized a firm grip of the game heading into the second day.

Andhra 233 for 5 (Bharat 70, Sumanth 56*) v Assam

Fifties from Srikar Bharat and Bodapati Sumanth took Andhra to a respectable 233 for 5 against Assam when other batsmen also got starts but couldn't capitalise on them. While Bharat was dismissed for 70, Sumanth was unbeaten on 56 at the end of the first day.

Andhra were given a slow start after they were put in to bat and opener Prasanth Kumar fell for 8 to Pritam Das in the 16th over. When Bharat and Murumulla Sriram had almost steered them to 100, Das struck again to break the 66-run stand by dismissing Bharat for a relatively brisk 70. And a run later, Arup Das removed Sriram for 20 to leave Andhra at 100 for 3.

Veteran Amol Muzumdar and Sumanth built on the score by putting together 42 runs but Muzumdar's innings was cut short to 23 when he became Arup Das' second victim. Sumanth was then joined by AG Pradeep who couldn't go past the 20s either. He scored 27 in the 60-run partnership and was dismissed by Abu Nechim at the score of 202. Sumanth and Duvvarapu Shivkumar then saw their side till stumps as the former scored his 13th first-class fifty.

Himachal Pradesh 92 for 1 (Chopra 35) trail Jammu & Kashmir 178 (Rasool 97, Dhawan 4-70) by 86 runs

Himachal Pradesh skittled Jammu & Kashmir for 178 and then marched comfortably to 92 for 1 to reduce their trail to 86 on the first day in Dharamsala. J&K's innings saw only two major contributions - from Adil Rishi and Parvez Rasool - as their remaining nine batsmen managed only 33 runs together.

Himachal chose to field and struck twice in the first 10 overs. Rishi and Rasool added 109 runs for the third wicket out of which the former made 47 with the help of 10 fours. The stand was broken at the score of 126 in the 31st over with the wicket of Rishi, and six overs later, Rasool was dismissed three short of what would have been his fourth first-class hundred. His wicket triggered a collapse as the remaining six wickets fell for only 26 more runs as Vikramjeet Malik and Rishi Dhawan shared five of those between themselves. While Malik picked up three overall, Dhawan finished with 4 for 70.

In reply, Himachal lost only one wicket, of Prashant Chopra for 36, as Sangram Singh and Paras Dogra were unbeaten on 24 and 29 respectively at the end of the day.