Harbhajan to lead North Zone in Duleep Trophy

Harbhajan Singh is set to play his first first-class match in nearly seven months after being named captain of the North Zone Duleep Trophy side. Harbhajan will lead the team against East Zone between October 10 and 13 in Kochi.

Harbhajan, who last played for India in the second Test against Australia in March this year, played five Ranji games for Punjab last season but did not play a List A or T20 game for his state. He was not a part of any of the India A teams against South Africa A, New Zealand A or West Indies A.

He will be leading a side that includes Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand, Punjab batsmen Jiwanjot Singh and Mandeep Singh, Jammu & Kashmir batsman Ian Dev Singh and batsman Vaibhav Raval. The side has pace bowlers in Mohit Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma, Rishi Dhawan and Parvinder Awana, while Vikas Mishra, Sarabjit Ladda and Harbhajan make up the spin attack.