The BCCI has decided to extend the one-time payment it announced in 2012 for former cricketers to five more players. The decision, which was taken during the board meeting in Kolkata on September 1, is set to benefit Sairaj Bahutule, Sanjay Bangar, Amol Muzumdar, S Sriram and Wasim Jaffer.

Jaffer will be the biggest beneficiary of the board's decision, having featured in 31 Tests and 211 first-class matches, but he will be eligible for the payment of Rs 60 lakh ($87,900) only after his retirement. The same applies to Muzumdar, who, although never made it to the national side, has played 166 first-class matches. He is set to gain Rs 30 lakh.

Bangar, Bahutule and Sriram, all of whom have retired, are eligible for immediate payment.

"Those cricketers who retired before 2003-04 had got the one-time benefit," Ravi Savant, the BCCI treasurer, told Mid-day. "There were few who retired after that, so the board felt it would extend the scheme to these players."

The scheme, first announced at the IPL 2012 opening ceremony, had benefited around 160 former cricketers. The payments were made in seven categories, with the top payments going to players who had played more than 100 Tests.