Clive Rose, the left-arm spinner who made his first-class debut for Victoria in February, has joined Tasmania on a one-year contract. The Tigers have confirmed their full squad for the 2013-14 season and Rose is the only addition from interstate, while the rookies Jordan Silk and Harry Allanby have been upgraded to full contracts.

Tasmania had already confirmed that the offspinner Jason Krejza and the allrounder Matt Johnston would not be signed up for next season, while Ricky Ponting was not given a deal at his own request. After being part of the state's Sheffield Shield triumph last month, Ponting told Tasmania he was keen to play on next summer but asked them not to contract him at this stage in case he was to change his mind during the off-season.

Rose, 23, is an impressive bowler but has had scant opportunities for the Bushrangers and his appearances next summer were likely to be even more limited, with the legspinner Fawad Ahmed having joined Jon Holland as the state's two main spinners. The axing of Krejza means the Tigers have three specialist slow bowlers in their squad and all three bowl left-arm orthodox: Rose, Allanby and Xavier Doherty.

"It was something we certainly thought about before we went ahead with it but I guess we felt Clive was the next best available spinner," the new Tasmania coach Daniel Marsh told the Mercury. "We see it as really good, healthy competition, for Harry Allanby in particular. Obviously [Doherty] is our main man and we hope he plays for Australia for as long as he possibly can."

The Tigers have also added three new rookies to their list: Gabe Bell, a 17-year-old fast bowler; batsman Sean Willis, 18; and the 19-year-old fast bowler Ryan Lees, who grew up on Flinders Island.

Tasmania squad Harry Allanby, George Bailey (Cricket Australia contract), Jackson Bird, Aiden Blizzard, Luke Butterworth, Steve Cazzulino, Mark Cosgrove, Ed Cowan (CA), Xavier Doherty (CA), Alex Doolan, Ben Dunk, James Faulkner (CA), Andrew Fekete, Evan Gulbis, Ben Hilfenhaus (CA), Ben Laughlin, Adam Maher, Tim Paine, Clive Rose, Jordan Silk, Timm van der Gugten, Jonathan Wells. Rookies Gabe Bell, Ryan Lees, Sam Rainbird, Beau Webster, Sean Willis.