Luke Ronchi, the former Australia wicketkeeper, has earned his first call-up to a New Zealand squad after being picked for the one-day series against England and the Champions Trophy in June. Daniel Vettori also made a return after eight months out of international cricket with an ankle injury, selected in the one-day side.

There were few surprises in New Zealand's Test squad for the England tour, with opener Martin Guptill and fast bowler Mark Gillespie, both returning from injuries, added to the group that featured in the recent home series against England. With Gillespie's return, seamer Ian Butler misses out, the only omission from those home Tests.

Fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan, who was ruled out after the first game of the one-day series against England after suffering a side strain, returns to the one-day side. He had been quite effective in the one game he played, taking 4 for 56 though he could not complete his quota of overs. Guptill had been injured in the same match, pulling a hamstring.

Gillespie last played for New Zealand a year ago, in the home Test series against South Africa. He then injured his ankle, before gaining a call-up for the T20 series in South Africa in December, only to pick up a side strain and miss out further.

Batsman Hamish Rutherford and keeper BJ Watling are the ones to miss out from the home England ODIs. New Zealand lost that series 2-1, before going on to draw the three-Test series 0-0.

Their tour of England includes two Tests, starting on May 16, followed by three ODIs. That is followed by Champions Trophy between June 6 and 23. Following the Champions Trophy, before they return home, New Zealand play two T20s against England.

Test squad Brendon McCullum (capt), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Mark Gillespie, Tom Latham, Bruce Martin, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Kane Williamson

ODI Champions Trophy squad Brendon McCullum (capt), Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson