Ross Taylor will make his return to New Zealand colours in the Twenty20 series against England, having been named in the squads for both the T20s and the one-day internationals that follow.

Taylor, who took a self-imposed break from the international scene following his controversial removal as captain after the Sri Lanka tour, recently returned to action in the Plunket Shield and has also been included in the New Zealand XI squad to face England in two warm-up matches next week.

The other notable inclusion comes in the Twenty20 squad where Hamish Rutherford, the son of former New Zealand captain Ken, has been handed his first international call-up. Rutherford, 23, has been in consistent form for Otago this season.

There is a recall to both squads for allrounder Andrew Ellis after he missed the South Africa tour through injury. Ian Butler, the pace bowler, has also been recalled to the New Zealand set-up for the first time since December 2010, when he played the last of his 15 T20 internationals.

Mike Hesson, the New Zealand coach, said: "Andrew proved his worth with the team last summer, while Ross is a world-class batsman who is a key part of this Blackcaps side. Hamish has shown he is an explosive batsman and we hope he can bring that form to the Blackcaps."

Tim Southee remains sidelined with his thumb injury while Corey Anderson, who was on the South Africa tour, has not recovered from the broken thumb he picked up earlier this month. Martin Guptill, who had a poor one-day series against South Africa, retains his place in the 50-overs side.

Kim Littlejohn, the general manager, national selection, said: "There are a couple of changes that have been forced through injury but essentially we want to be seen to provide continuity from one series to the next.

"We are however looking at developing talented youngsters and finding a new crop of allrounders in our build-up to the Champions Trophy in June and the 2015 World Cup."

The three-match Twenty20 series against England begins in Auckland on February 9.

Twenty20 squad Brendon McCullum (capt), Trent Boult, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Roneel Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Colin Munro, Hamish Rutherford, Ross Taylor

One-day squad Brendon McCullum (capt), Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson