Elwiss earns England call for World Cup

Georgia Elwiss with her Player of the Tournament award Getty Images

Eight players who helped England win the World Cup in 2009 are part of the squad for their title defence in India next year. Warwickshire's Amy Jones is the one uncapped player, although she was part of the World Twenty20 squad in Sri Lanka, while seamer Georgia Elwiss has earned her first call-up for a global event.

Elwiss, who has played nine ODIs, made her debut against South Africa in 2011 and has best figures of 3 for 17 against India, at Wormsley, in July. She is the only addition to the squad that took part in the World T20, while the unlucky Susie Rowe, who was forced out of the World T20 with a broken finger, misses out. Charlotte Edwards, the captain, will be playing in her fifth World Cup.

"The whole team is really excited about defending our world title in Mumbai in February," Edwards said. "I'm so proud to be captaining such a talented team in what is the pinnacle event in our sport.

"There is a great blend to our squad with a combination of experienced players who were part of the 2009 success and emerging young players who have already shown that they can perform at this level. Every player in our squad has experience of playing in subcontinental conditions and we will continue to work hard during our final preparations so come February we are in the best possible shape to defend our title."

Clare Connor, the head of women's cricket, said: "It has never been harder to select the England Women's squad than ahead of this World Cup. So many players have impressed during 2012 and this final group of 15 should be congratulated on their selection. They have the honour of going to the World Cup as the current world champions and we wish them every success in rising to the challenge of bringing the trophy home again."

England will depart on January 17 for a preparation camp before facing Sri Lanka in their first match of the competition on February 2.

Squad Charlotte Edwards (capt), Tammy Beaumont, Arran Brindle, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Georgia Elwiss, Lydia Greenway, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor (wk), Danielle Wyatt