The ministry of youth and sports in Bangladesh has announced a 13-member adhoc committee to run the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) for the next three months. Within this time the committee will have to hold elections under the amended constitution, the ministry confirmed in an ordinance on Tuesday.

The decision comes in view of the the BCB's current panel of directors' tenure running out on November 28. However, the election of a new set of directors was stalled by diagreements between the board and the National Sports Council - the regulatory body for all sports federations in Bangladesh.

The ministry have retained current BCB president Nazmul Hassan and Ahmed Sajjadul Alam, Mahbubul Anam, Enayet Hossain Siraj, Gazi Ashraf Hossain and Jalal Yunus, who were board directors between November 2008 and November 2012, on the committee.

Former Bangladesh captains Khaled Mahmud, who has been a coach after retirement, and Naimur Rahman, who is the president of Cricketers' Welfare Association of Bangladesh (the players' representative body), are also on the panel.

Among the other members, only one has a background in cricket management from outside Dhaka, while the rest are from various cricket clubs based in Dhaka. The list includes Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan (Mohammedan Sporting Club Ltd's director in charge), Dr Ismail Haider Mallik (Abahani's cricket secretary), Gazi Golam Mortuza (Gazi Tank Cricketers councilor) and Afzalur Rahman Sinha (president of Surjo Tarun club). AJM Nasiruddin is an administrator from Chittagong, though he too has been involved with Brothers Union, a Dhaka Premier League club.

The naming of the adhoc members is big news in Bangladesh cricket but already fingers are being pointed at the lopsided choice by the ministry, which has gone for an all-Dhaka body rather than one that includes administrators from across the country.