Sangakkara sweeps top SLC awards

Dinesh Chandimal with the Emerging Player of the Year award Manoj Ridimahaliyadda

Kumar Sangakkara was rewarded for a prolific year in both Tests and ODIs at the Sri Lanka Cricket Awards, where he took home three of the evening's top prizes. Sangakkara beat Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene to win Cricketer of the Year, and he was also named Best Test Batsman and People's Player of the Year.

Sangakkara scored 1444 runs at an average 60.16 in Tests over the twelve months being considered, and 1457 ODI runs at 42.85. He had five hundreds in Tests and three in ODIs in the same period.

Rangana Herath claimed the award for Best Test Bowler for his 70 wickets at 25.24, including a match-winning haul of 9 for 128 in Sri Lanka's first victory in South Africa, in December. Also nominated were fast bowlers Chanaka Welegedara and Suranga Lakmal.

Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga and Tillakaratne Dilshan won the ODI awards for Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Best Allrounder, while Dinesh Chandimal was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year, following impressive overseas performances in South Africa and Australia.

In the Women's categories, Chamari Atapattu was named Best Batsman, Sherina Ravikumar Best Bowler, and Shashikala Siriwardene Best Allrounder.

It was the second time Sangakkara had won the top prize and the third consecutive year in which he had become People's Player of the Year, which is awarded based on public voting. He is also in the running for four ICC awards, including Cricketer of Year, at the international awards night in Colombo on September 15.

Sri Lanka Cricket Awards list

Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara
Best Test Batsman: Kumar Sangakkara
Best Test Bowler: Rangana Herath
People's Player of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara
Best ODI Batsman: Mahela Jayawardene
Best ODI Bowler: Lasith Malinga
Best ODI Allrounder: Tillakaratne Dilshan
Emerging Player of the Year: Dinesh Chandimal

Women's Awards
Best Batsman: Chamari Atapattu
Best Bowler: Sherina Ravikumar
Best Allrounder: Shashikala Siriwardene