Batsman Darren Bravo and allrounder Andre Russell have returned to the West Indies squad for the World Twenty20 to be played in Sri Lanka. Bravo had to return to the West Indies from the tour of England after suffering a groin injury and missed the home series against New Zealand as a result. Russell had missed the T20 leg of the series against New Zealand in Florida due to an injury he had picked up in England, but played the ODI series in the Caribbean thereafter.

The remainder of the squad, led by Darren Sammy with Dwayne Bravo as his deputy, is the same as the one picked against New Zealand in Florida. West Indies won that series 2-0. In addition to Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard, two power-players in the batting line-up, the squad also features opener Lendl Simmons and top-order batsman Johnson Charles, who's played six T20s for West Indies, averaging 29.66.

Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul and Russell comprise the pace attack with Dwayne Bravo, Pollard, Sammy and Dwayne Smith also available to bowl medium-pace. Sunil Narine, who played a crucial role in Kolkata Knight Riders winning the fifth season of the IPL and picked up seven wickets in the two T20 wins against New Zealand, has legspinner Samuel Badree for company in the spin department. Badree made his international debut in the New Zealand series.

West Indies play their first warm-up, against hosts Sri Lanka, on September 13. Their first game of the tournament is against Australia on September 22.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Dwayne Bravo (vice-capt), Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.