The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has named six Test players in the Bangladesh A squad for the Shafi Darashah Invitational tournament in India. The tournament is a four-day competition hosted by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA), which will feature local first-class teams and will run from July 27 to August 14 in Bangalore and Mysore.

However, the BCB didn't announce a captain for the team and it was learned that the decision would be made in "a day or two".

The six Test players in the squad include Shahriar Nafees, Imrul Kayes, Raqibul Hasan, Naeem Islam, Enamul Haque jnr and Shahadat Hossain. Shuvagata Hom, who has played a handful of ODIs, was also picked.

Shamsur Rahman, Mithun Ali and Farhad Hossain, who all scored more than 500 runs in the National Cricket League 2011-12, are in the 15-man squad, while the bowlers include offspinner Sohag Gazi, and seamers Alauddin Babu, Dolar Mahmud and Kazi Kamrul Islam - the latter two aggregated more than 25 wickets in the NCL.

Saqlain Sajib, Rajshahi's 23-year-old left-arm spinner who was one of only three bowlers who took 50 wickets in the NCL, did not find a place in the 15.

Robiul Islam, Nasiruddin Faruque, Arafat Sunny and Al-Amin Hossain were named standbys.

Bangladesh A will fly out for the tournament on July 23. They are placed in group A, along with the KSCA XI, KSCA Colts and the Baroda Cricket Association XI (BCA), and will play the BCA XI in their opening game from July 27. The other group includes the KSCA President's XI, Mumbai Cricket Association XI, Rajasthan Cricket Association President's XI and Hydrabad Cricket Asscoaition XI.