West Indies have more or less retained the ODI squad from the recent England tour for the first two one-dayers against New Zealand, with Fidel Edwards and Darren Bravo the only omissions. A 13-man squad has been named for the five-match one-day series, which begins in Jamaica on Thursday, and there were no inclusions from outside the group that took on England.

Bravo had returned home after straining his groin during the first ODI against England in Southampton on June 16. Edwards has not featured in an ODI for West Indies since May 2009 but played in both the Twenty20s against New Zealand in Florida.

Meanwhile, New Zealand have added the left-arm fast bowler Trent Boult to the squad for the one-day portion of the tour. Boult, 22, was already part of the Test squad for the Caribbean trip but he is yet to make his one-day international debut.

"The current squad already has sufficient batting resources and we felt that bolstering the bowling stocks was the right option," the national selection manager Kim Littlejohn said. "Trent was always part of the Test squad and has been on stand-by for the ODI series. Having him join the team early will also benefit his preparation for the Test matches."

West Indies squad Darren Sammy (capt), Tino Best, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

New Zealand squad Ross Taylor (capt), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Andrew Ellis, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Tim Southee, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.