With James Pattinson injured, Australia had bowling worries ahead of the third final at Adelaide. Clint McKay, the right-arm seamer, stepped up to the plate with figures of 5-28 and ensured Australia won, by 16 runs.

McKay's figures were his best in international cricket, and followed a critical 28 at the tail-end of Australia's innings. Australia were struggling at 7 for 177 but his lower-order knock took Australia to a middling 231.

Sri Lanka got off to a shaky start, losing Dilshan early and then Kumar Sangakkara for a cameo. McKay had replaced Xavier Doherty, and was soon settled into a precise spell that exploited the vagaries of a wearing surface to the maximum. Dinesh Chandimal was pinned lbw by a delivery that whirred in at middle stump, before Mahela Jayawardene was undone by another that seamed back just enough to beat his forward press and graze off stump.

Sri Lanka stuttered and recovered and by the 45th over it was still anybody's game. McKay returned to remove Kapugedera, Herath and Malinga to give Australia a hard-fought win and the title.