The five Kenya players who refused the newly offered contracts by the country's cricket board have not been included in the squad for the two ODIs and the Intercontinental Cup fixture against UAE next week in Nairobi. The five players are: Alex Obanda, James Ngoche, Shem Ngoche, Elijah Otieno and Nehemiah Odhiambo.

Five of the seven players who signed the contracts have been picked in the squad of 14, but Seren Waters and Ragheb Aga - among the seven - missed out on a place. Also included in the squad is Tanmay Mishra, who has made himself available for national duty though he's chosen to play domestic cricket in India this season.

"This is a new-look squad with some players being offered the opportunity to show what they can do at this level. The fact that some players have rejected new contracts and made themselves unavailable presents others with their chance," Alpesh Vadher, chairman of selectors, said in a release. "We have a blend of players who have been involved with the squad for some time, players who have shown good form in domestic cricket and deserve a chance at this level and some who were not recently offered contracts and have a point to prove."

Squad: Collins Obuya (capt), Rakep Patel, Tanmay Mishra, Runish Gudka, Hiren Varaiya, Lucas Oluoch, Dominic Wesonga, Karen Kaul, Amit Shukla, Rajesh Bhudia, Rajesh Varsani, Ramesh Mepani, Mansukh Jesani (wk), Samarth Patel.