The 2011 season of the IPL will begin with defending champions Chennai Super Kings taking on Kolkata Knight Riders at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The preliminary schedule released by the BCCI has the ten franchises playing at 13 venues over 51 days. The schedule may undergo changes keeping in view the state assembly elections to be held in a number of the host venues.

The Indian board has also said that the four play-off games after the league stage - as per the revised format announced last year - will be split evenly between the Wankhede Stadium and the MA Chidambaram Stadium, with Chennai hosting the final on May 28.

The finalists and the losing team from the third play-off match will qualify for the Champions League Twenty20 2011.

Meanwhile, the new Kochi franchise has announced that the side will be called "Indi Commandos."