New Zealand allrounder James Franklin and fast bowler Daryl Tuffey have rejoined the squad ahead of the second Test against Pakistan.

The duo were part of the squad for the first Test in Hamilton but were released to play for their provinces. Pakistan won the first Test by 10 wickets and lead the two Test series 1-0. New Zealand's pace attack for that Test comprised Tim Southee, Brent Arnel and Chris Martin.

Tuffey, who plays for Auckland, took two wickets in their eight-wicket win over Wellington on Tuesday in the New Zealand Cricket one-day competition. Franklin, who turns out for Wellington, scored 65 runs in the same match.

Franklin practised with the team today and Tuffey will be at practice at the Basin Reserve on Friday.

NZC has said that a decision on the final eleven will be made closer to the start of the match. The second Test begins in Wellington on January 15.

New Zealand Test squad for the second Test: Brent Arnel, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson, Reece Young (wk)