Kumble to take on Maharaja in KSCA elections

Anil Kumble makes a special appearance at the Van Heusen Fashion Week Associated Press

For the second time in three years, a Maharaja will take on one of India's most celebrated cricketers in an election to take charge of a state cricket association. The final nominations for the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) polls, to be held on November 21, are in and its incumbent president, Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar, the Maharaja of Mysore, will seek re-election against Anil Kumble, India's highest wicket-taker and former captain.

Three years ago, Wadiyar made a triumphant entry into cricket administration defeating G R Viswanath for the position of president. This is Kumble's first entry into the electoral process connected with cricket adminstration, and he will be conesting with his former India and Karnataka teammates Javagal Srinath and Venkatesh Prasad on his side.

Srinath is running for the secretary's post against A V Jayaprakash, the former Test umpire, who happened to be on the field during Kumble's 10-74 versus Pakistan in 1999, and Siddalingaswamy. Prasad is a nominee for one of three vice-president's posts and he is up against umpire Jayaprakash and five others from what is called the "Maharaja Group".

Many a heavyweight from politics and business, and several former cricketers, can be found in the list of 82 nominees for the KSCA elections.

Amongst the vice-presidential candidates alongside Prasad are former India allrounder Roger Binny, and a long time KSCA member P Sadananda Maiya. Maiya belongs to the famous MTR Group business family and is a PhD in nanotechnology who worked alongside Sharad Pawar in the agricultural ministry. M R Srinivasa Prasad, former Karnataka batsman and now vice-president at Fidelity Business Systems, will be contesting for one of the posts on the managing committee.

Along with the scion of the Mysore royal family, the 'Maharaja's' men in the mix feature Rajya Sabha MP and Bellary mine owner Anil Lad, who is in for one of the six managing committee seats from the district clubs, and Panduranga Shetty, who heads the trust that runs the RV Group of Educational Institutions. Shetty is up against Prasad and Binny in the contest for vice president.

There are 24 posts up to be contested: one each for president, secretary and treasurer, three vice-presidents and 18 managing committee members (six each from individual members, Bangalore clubs and district clubs). In all, KSCA has 229 clubs and 1200 individual members who can cast votes in the election. Those elected serve three-year terms.