Deepak Chahar, Rajasthan's 18-year-old medium-pacer, made a dream first-class debut, taking 8 for 10 from 7.3 overs to dismiss Hyderabad for 21, the lowest ever total in Ranji Trophy history, at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Opener Akshath Reddy was the first to fall, having made six, which would turn out to be the highest score of the innings. Hyderabad lost their last nine wickets for nine runs, Chahar missing out on a hat-trick, taking three wickets in four balls. Proving there was nothing in the pitch to warrant such an abject capitulation, Rajasthan ended the day on 220 for 2, with former India batsman Hrishikesh Kanitkar finishing unbeaten on 100 and sharing a 149-run partnership with opener Aakash Chopra, who made a patient 65 from 164 balls.

For more on Hyderabad's innings, click here.

Maharashtra began life in the Ranji Plate League by dismissing Jammu & Kashmir for 272 at the Gandhi Memorial Science College Ground in Jammu, before adding 67 for the loss of Nikhil Paradkar by stumps. Opening bowlers Samad Fallah and Shrikant Mundhe took nine wickets between them as a number of J&K batsmen got starts, but only Arshad Bhatt was able to push on and get to a half-century. Bhatt had retired hurt on 18, but returned with the score 137 for 4, eventually falling to Mundhe for a breezy 77 off 101 balls, with 11 fours. Four other batsmen made at least 25, but Asif Jeelani was the next highest scorer with 39. Fallah finished with 5 for 98, while Mundhe took 4 for 54. Maharashtra were demoted from the Super League after failing to win a game and finishing last in their group in 2009-10.

A three-wicket haul from left-arm spinner Ankit Sharma helped Madhya Pradesh skittle Goa out for 170, before Naman Ojha and Monish Mishra overcame the loss of an early wicket to give the hosts the advantage on the opening day at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. Goa's decision to bat on a green pitch backfired as seamers TP Sudhindra and Ishwar Pandey reduced them to 6 for 3. Ajay Ratra and Rahul Keni weathered the storm with a determined stand of 55 in 18.4 overs, but Goa were soon staring down the barrel at 78 for 6. IPL regular Shadab Jakati kept MP on the field for a while with 49 off 85 balls. His 46-run ninth-wicket stand with Amit Yadav took Goa to 170 before Ankit trapped Jakati in front. MP lost opener Zafar Ali for a duck, but Ojha and Mishra ensures there were no further breaches, stroking 11 fours and a six between them in 23.2 overs, taking the score to 67 by stumps.

Rohan Prem led Kerala to 212 for 3 against Services on the first day of their match at the Model Sports Complex in Delhi. Prem ended the day two short of his fifth first-class hundred, and shared a third-wicket partnership of 111 with Robert Fernandez, who made 57 before bowled by medium-pacer Suraj Yadav. Sreekumar Nair then kept Prem company in an unbroken stand worth 38, to which he contributed a stodgy 8 from 47 balls. Yadav took 3 for 45 from 22 overs, with Amrinder Singh taking the other wicket to fall.

An all-round bowling performance from Tripura helped them restrict Jharkhand to 233 for 7 at the Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium in Agartala. Four bowlers shared the seven wickets to fall, with legspinner Subal Chowdhury's 2 for 52 being the best figures among the group. Jharkhand started well, the openers putting on 59, before Chowdhury dismissed Siddhartha Sinha for 24. Rameez Nemat (55) and Ishank Jaggi (44) continued to build the innings, but India batsman Saurabh Tiwary's dismissal for 20, caught and bowled by offspinner Jayanta Debnath, slowed Jharkhand's momentum. Shiv Gautam was unbeaten on 38 when stumps were drawn.

Andhra Pradesh's top three batsmen all made half-centuries but two quick wickets near the end of the day meant honours were shared against Vidharba at the Vidharba Cricket Association Ground in Nagpur. Openers Hemal Watekar and Prasad Reddy put on 97 before Reddy was caught behind off an Umesh Yadav inswinger for 51. Watekar and Satyakumar Verma then added 49 before offspinner Akshay Wakhare ended Watekar's almost four-and-a-half-hour vigil for 77, which took 193 balls, including eight fours and two sixes. During his innings, Watekar had used his feet well to come down the pitch and loft Wakhare for two sixes, one straight, the other over mid-off. AP ended the day on 216 for 5, with Satyakumar unbeaten on 64. He had a let off in the 84th over when Ranjit Paradkar dropped a catch at first slip.