Sachin Tendulkar leads the nominations for the seventh ICC awards as the only cricketer to have been short-listed in all the three major categories. India opener Virender Sehwag, South Africa's middle-order batsman Hashim Amla and England offspinner Graeme Swann are the other names in the marquee Cricketer of the Year short-list. Swann was a late inclusion to the initial long-list after the ICC overlooked him when they first released the list of contenders for the awards. The awards will be handed out at a ceremony in Bangalore on October 6.

Amla and Sehwag were also nominated for the Test cricketer of the Year award, along with South Africa seamer Dale Steyn. Two Australians - seamer Ryan Harris and allrounder Shane Watson - and South Africa's middle-order batsman AB de Villiers completed the short-list for the ODI award, along with Tendulkar.

Tendulkar was in prolific form during the assessment period - August 24 2009 to August 10 2010 - scoring 1064 runs in 10 Tests, and 914 runs in 17 ODIs, including the first double-century in the history of the format.

Sehwag's inclusion in the Test category came as no surprise after a year during which he topped the run-charts, apart from scoring his runs at an exceptional strike-rate of 97.34.

Ricky Ponting, the Australia captain who was the top ODI run-scorer during the assessment period, did not make the cut despite being on both the ODI and Player of the Year short-lists. de Villiers, who topped the ODI averages among players who scored above 700 runs, had four centuries in the 12-month period - second only to Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan, who scored five.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene won two Twenty20 nominations for his knocks against Zimbabwe and West Indies in the World Twenty20, while Brendon McCullum and Michael Hussey were also short-listed for batting performances. South Africa seamer Ryan McLaren was the only bowler to figure in the list of five.

This year's awards include nine individual prizes and three team awards. For the first time, a "people's choice award" that will be decided by online fan votes has been included. The short-lists were nominated by an independent 25-person academy comprising a host of former players, members of the media, and representatives of the elite panel of umpires and match referees.

The short-lists

Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Virender Sehwag, Graeme Swann and Sachin Tendulkar

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn and Sachin Tendulkar

ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris, Sachin Tendulkar , AB de Villiers, Shane Watson

Emerging Player of the Year: Umar Akmal, Steven Finn, Angelo Mathews and Tim Paine

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands), Trent Johnson (Ireland), Kevin O'Brien (Ireland) and Mohammed Shahzad (Afghanistan)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Michael Hussey 60* v Pakistan, Mahela Jayawardene 100 v Zimbabwe, Mahela Jayawardene 98* v West Indies, Ryan McLaren 5-19 v West Indies and Brendon McCullum 116* v Australia.

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Katherine Brunt (England), Shelley Nitschke (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia) and Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill and Simon Taufel

Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe

Members of the voting academy

Former players: Ian Healy, Moin Khan, Athar Ali Khan, Shaun Pollock, Bob Willis, Sidath Wettimuny, Kris Srikkanth, Ian Bishop, Jeremy Coney, Mpumelelo Mbangwa and Roland Lefebvre

Media: Jim Maxwell (Australia), Osman Samiuddin (Pakistan), Sayeed Uzzaman (Bangladesh), Neil Manthorp (South Africa), Mike Selvey (England), Ranil Abeynaike (Sri Lanka), Sharda Ugra (India), Fazeer Mohammed (West India), Richard Boock (New Zealand), Enock Muchinjo (Zimbabwe) and Ian Callender (Associate Representative)

Elite panel of ICC referees representative: Roshan Mahanama

Elite panel of ICC umpires representative: Rudi Koertzen

Chairman of ICC cricket committee: Clive Lloyd