Younis not selected for England tour

Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul and Waqar Younis talk to each other during practice Getty Images

Pakistan have not selected former captain Younis Khan, whose indefinite ban was recently overturned, in their Test and Twenty20 squads for the tour of England between June and September. Fast bowler Umar Gul has recovered from his shoulder injury and makes a comeback after missing the ICC World Twenty20 and the Asia Cup.

Younis, along with three team-mates, had been banned by the PCB following Pakistan's winless tour of Australia in 2009-10. However, after filing appeals, Younis and Shoaib Malik were pardoned by the board. Malik made a comeback soon afterwards and played in the ongoing Asia Cup in Sri Lanka but Younis' return has not been immediate.

The selectors also included legspinner Danish Kaneria in the Test squad despite him being under investigation for allegations concerning his involvement in "match irregularities" during Essex's Pro40 campaign last season. Shoaib Akhtar, who made a comeback to the national team during the Asia Cup, is part of the Twenty20 team but not the Test outfit. Shahid Afridi, the captain, had said that he didn't think Shoaib was ready for a Test return. "I think his fitness will be tested in Test matches," Afridi said.

Also making a return to the Test team was opening batsman Yasir Hameed, who last's appearance was against India at Bangalore in 2007. Fast bowler Mohammad Sami was cut from the squad that lost three Tests in Australia.

Pakistan will first play Australia in two Twenty20 internationals and two Tests, followed by four Tests, two Twenty20s and five ODIs against England. The squad for the ODIs has not been named as yet.

Twenty20 squad: Salman Butt, Shahzaib Hasan, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Wahab Riaz, Fawad Alam.

Test squad: Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Azhar Ali, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Zulqarnain Haider, Kamran Akmal, Umar Gul, Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Asif, Wahab Riaz, Tanvir Ahmed, Danish Kaneria, Saeed Ajmal.