Devon Smith to lead West Indies A

Devon Smith has been named captain of the West Indies A team for the tour of England and Ireland this summer.

The team will play three four-day games against Glamorgan and India A between June 5 and 20 before two limited-overs matches against Ireland in Stormont. West Indies A will then take part in a tri-series involving England Lions and India A.

Clyde Butts, West Indies' chairman of selectors, had said that scheduling of regular matches for the A team was a step in the right direction for the development of the region's cricket. The team had a recent home series against Zimbabwe and also toured Bangladesh.

West Indies A: Devon Smith (capt), David Bernard (vc), Omar Phillips, Lionel Baker, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Odean Brown, Kirk Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Justin Guillen, Imran Khan, Nelon Pascal, Gavin Tonge, Chadwick Walton.

Kieron Pollard and Nikita Miller will replace Justin Guillen and Odean Brown for the one-day section of the tour.