England women announce T20 squad

England's women will rely on a blend of youth and experience as they seek to retain the World Twenty20 title that they claimed last summer when the 2010 tournament gets underway in the Caribbean next month.

Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin return to the squad after missing the recent tour of India, but there is no place for the veterans Isa Guha and Caroline Atkins, nor Ebony Rainford-Brent, who was also in the squad last summer. Heather Knight, Danielle Wyatt and Danielle Hazell come into the reckoning instead.

"We believe we have selected a squad of players with the necessary skills to retain the ICC World Twenty20," said the head of England Women's Cricket, Clare Connor. "Whilst this will be no easy feat given the strength of our group (Australia, West Indies and South Africa), the Twenty20 series win in India in February has prepared the squad well for the challenge.

"In order to make way for the return of Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin, who missed the India tour due to other commitments, the selectors have had to make some tough decisions. Young Academy graduates Heather Knight, Danielle Wyatt and Danielle Hazell all seized their opportunities in India and, as such, have retained their places in the squad.

"A couple of senior players have missed out on selection but the door remains open to them with a huge summer ahead against New Zealand in July. It is exactly this sort of competition for places that we are always striving for. We wish Charlotte Edwards and her squad every success in their bid to retain their ICC World Twenty20 champion status."

Squad Charlotte Edwards (capt), Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Lydia Greenway, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Heather Knight, Laura Marsh, Beth Morgan, Nicky Shaw, Shrubsole, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor, Danielle Wyatt.