Daryl Harper won't stand at World Twenty20

Daniel Vettori in discussion with umpires Daryl Harper and Nigel Llong AFP

Daryl Harper has not been chosen to officiate at the World Twenty20 in West Indies although the ICC insist the decision has nothing to do with his controversial role in the fourth Test between England and South Africa, at the Wanderers in January, and is based on "general performance reasons".

Harper came under the spotlight when he was the third umpire in control of the Umpire Decision Review System (UDRS) in Johannesburg. He gave Graeme Smith not out under the review procedure when he was unable to hear a clear noise as the ball passed the edge.

It was suggested at the time that Harper hadn't had the volume level turned up when listening to the replay, although there were counter-claims that it was a problem with the original feed from the host broadcaster which they denied.

"It will be noted that Daryl Harper…has not been selected for this event," the ICC said. "This decision was taken by the selection panel for a number of general performance reasons. It must be categorically stated, however, that none of these reasons is related to his role as third umpire in the fourth Test between South Africa and England in Johannesburg earlier this year."

It wasn't the first time that Harper had been involved in controversy either in the TV umpire's chair or out in the middle and the ICC's statement that his omission from the World Twenty20 is for general performance suggests it has been a build-up of errors.

Harper isn't the first umpire to miss a high-profile tournament. In 2007, Aleem Dar, Steve Bucknor, Billy Bowden and Rudi Koertzen were stood down from the inaugural World Twenty20 in South Africa - along with match referee Jeff Crowe - following their part in the chaotic conclusion to the 2007 World Cup final in Barbados. The game ended in virtual darkness when the umpires didn't realise enough overs had been completed to register a match.

While Harper won't be in the West Indies, three international panel umpires - Marais Erasmus from South Africa, Australia's Rod Tucker and Shavir Tarapore from India - will join their elite colleagues.

The decision on the umpiring appointments was taken by a four man committee comprising of Dave Richardson, the ICC general manager, Ranjan Madugalle, the ICC chief match referee, David Lloyd the former England coach and now TV commentator and Srinivas Venkataraghavan the former elite umpire from India.

Umpires Billy Bowden, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Billy Doctrove, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Rudi Koertzen, Asoka de Silva, Simon Taufel, Asad Rauf (all from the elite panel of ICC umpires), Marais Erasmus, Shavir Tarapore and Rod Tucker (from the international panel of ICC umpires).

Match referees Ranjan Madugalle, Alan Hurst and Jeff Crowe