England batsman Claire Taylor has been named Women's Cricketer of the Year at the ICC Awards ceremony in Johannesburg. During the voting period between August 13, 2008 and August 24, 2009, Taylor played 18 ODIs for England scoring 565 runs at the top of the order with an average of 70.62. She also played in six Twenty20 matches managing 230 runs at a lofty 115.00.

The 33-year-old took the award ahead of team-mate and last year's winner Charlotte Edwards as well as Australia's Shelley Nitschke.

The award rounds off a successful year for Taylor, who was part of the England side that was won both the Women's World Cup and the Women's World Twenty20. She was also named the Player of the Tournament at both of the events.

Accepting the award from Wasim Akram, the former Pakistan captain, Taylor said: "It has been an amazing year for women's cricket and it has been a privilege to be involved in this great England team. We have had a great team environment with Charlotte Edwards leading from the front and a fantastic support staff.

"The highlight for us was coming home from the one-day World Cup with the trophy and then playing really well in the ICC World Twenty20 at home in England.

"The ICC and ECB are working really hard to grow the women's game. We are really trying to attract more and more women and girls into cricket and I think the success of the England national team helps to do that especially when we are given the chance - like this year - to compete on the big stage."

The nominations for the Women's Cricketer of the Year were decided after a committee of former players, current administrators and journalists created a preliminary list, which was trimmed further by a separate 25-member voting academy.