Records galore for competing teams

A few key numbers for teams competing in the Champions League Twenty20.


The most sixes hit in Twenty20 cricket. David Hussey of Victoria holds the record, while Brendon McCullum of Otago is next with 76.


Among the teams involved in the competition, Somerset hold the record for the highest score in Twenty20 cricket, against Gloucestershire in Taunton in June 2006. Victoria are second in the list, with 233 for 7 against New South Wales in Sydney in January the same year.


Eagles have had the honour of bowling out their opponents Titans for the lowest score in Twenty20 cricket in Centurion in 2004. In this year's IPL, Royal Challengers Bangalore skittled out Rajasthan Royals for 58 in Cape Town. Eagles and Sussex have each been bowled out for 67, the lowest among the teams this tournament.


Eagles, Victoria and Sussex have enjoyed the run of most successive wins among teams in this competition. Sussex's run is still in progress. The record for most consecutive wins among teams in all Twenty20 cricket is 20 and still going strong, by Pakistan's Sialkot Stallions.
It's also the second-highest number of bowlers used in an innings. Sussex have done it three times, Somerset twice, Bangalore, Deccan Chargers and Cape Cobras once each.


Deccan Chargers have also been at the receiving end of the most consecutive defeats in Twenty20 cricket among competing teams in the Champions League. They experienced this poor run in the inaugural IPL.


Bangalore hold the record for most ducks in an innings among participating teams; the achieved the unenviable feat against Kings XI Punjab at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in the inaugural IPL.
Dave Mohammed (Trinidad and Tobago) is the only bowler in the competition to bag a five-for in his debut Twenty20 game. He took 5 for 8 against St Lucia in February 2008.

Dillon du Preez's five maidens in his Twenty20 career is the second-most overall in the format.


Sussex have conceded the most sixes in a Twenty20 innings, against Essex at Chelmsford. Among the competing teams, New South Wales hold the record, conceding 14 sixes against Victoria in Sydney in 2006.


Somerset have struck the most fours in an innings in Twenty20 games, against Glamorgan in Cardiff in June 2003. Second in the list among competing teams is Otago, scoring 26 fours against Central Districts in Dunedin in January 2006.


Most century partnerships in a Twenty20 match - Eagles and Cobras had one each in their innings. Cobras eventually won the high-scoring contest in Kimberly by six wickets.


The runs scored in Twenty20 cricket by Victoria's Brad Hodge, who is the highest run-getter in Twenty20 cricket, averaging 41.60 in 68 matches. Hussey is second in that list, and McCullum is fifth with 1695 in 63 games at 30.26.


Adam Gilchrist's score in his 47-ball innings against Mumbai Indians in the inaugural IPL. It is the second-highest score by a wicketkeeper in Twenty20s.


The number of balls taken by Henry Davids of Cobras to get his hundred against Warriors in Cape Town, which is the second-fastest hundred in Twenty20s among players in this competition. He's behind Andrew Symonds, who reached his ton off 34 balls for Kent against Middlesex in 2004.


The number of fifties Gautam Gambhir (Delhi Daredevils), JP Duminy (Cobras), and Herschelle Gibbs (Cobras) have scored in this format. Overall, they are joint third in the list of players with most half-centuries in the format. Brad Hodge tops the tally with 17.
It's also the number of zeroes for Gibbs in this format, which is the most by any batsman in Twenty20 cricket.


The number of successive ducks for James Kirtley of Sussex. It is second in the list of most consecutive ducks in Twenty20 cricket, though he tops the list among the players in the tournament. The slump came in 2004.


The most runs conceded by a bowler in an innings, by Kirtley - again - versus Essex at Chelmsford in 2008.


The number of dismissals by Morne van Wyk (Eagles), which is the highest by a wicketkeeper in Twenty20 cricket. He accounted for five dismissals against Eastern Cape in 2004, the second-highest by a keeper in a match. He's done it twice, and joining him in the list is Lanka de Silva, for Wayamba against Kandurata in 2008.