Tuffey and Diamanti in for Champions Trophy

Daryl Tuffey bowls AFP

Daryl Tuffey and Brendon Diamanti have made it to New Zealand's Champions Trophy squad while Nathan McCullum misses out. Diamanti, who is playing for New Zealand A in India, will also join the Twenty20 and one-day squads in Sri Lanka.

Tuffey, a fast-medium bowler, is part of New Zealand's squad in Sri Lanka but will not be playing any limited-overs matches there since the team management had decided to take three spinners into the one-day and Twenty20 series. "But conditions will be different in South Africa - two spinners will be sufficient there, and Daryl's inclusion will give our seam attack additional depth," coach Andy Moles, who now with Daniel Vettori, has been appointed to the selection panel said. "Officially that [Tuffey in tri-series squad] was the selection by the previous committee. But basically we have three spinners in the squad and the selectors thought three spinners would not be needed in South Africa."

Tuffey last played ODIs for New Zealand in the World Cup in 2007 after which he joined the ICL for two years. On his comeback he picked up 3 for 41 in the tour game against Sri Lanka Cricket Development XI.

Moles said Diamanti's inclusion would give the squad an additional allrounder. "Brendon is a strong lower-order striker and has good control as a medium-pace bowler - he will provide valuable back-up for the squad. He was included in the Twenty20 side in England. It's just a continuity. He works very hard on his game, and he is a good team man. He is got a lot of qualitites we are looking for."

In 10 State Shield matches last season Diamanti scored 199 runs and took 12 wickets for Central Districts.

McCullum, who is also playing for New Zealand A, is yet to make his one-day debut. All A squad members will join the national team in Sri Lanka on August 26. Ian Butler, who is in New Zealand after a stint in UK, will reach Sri Lanka on August 24.

New Zealand Champions Trophy squad: Daniel Vettori (capt), Shane Bond, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Brendon Diamanti Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey