Deep Dasgupta and Rohan Gavaskar are among six former ICL players to have been named in a 35-man Bengal probables squad for the forthcoming Ranji Trophy season.

In May the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) said it was ready to accept all Bengal players who had joined the ICL into its fold, after which Dasgupta, a former Bengal captain, and Abhishek Jhunjhunwala requested to be released from the ICL. The BCCI then went on to grant amnesty to 79 domestic players.

Bengal, along with Punjab and Hyderabad, was one of the teams that suffered most from the ban on domestic players to have joined the unofficial ICL. Among the others to have been included into the Bengal fold are Subhomoy Das, Eklak Ahmid and Shibsagar Singh. Subhajit Paul, who had also quit the ICL, was not deemed fit for selection, said the CAB.

Shib Shankar Paul, the veteran pace bowler, has been named in the squad, subject to his fitness. The 35 players will congregate at the Eden Gardens for a camp starting August 20. Bengal coach Roger Binny, appointed earlier this summer, will join the side later in the month.