Malaysia clinch trophy

Malaysia received a boost ahead of the ICC World Cricket League Division 6 when they beat Singapore to win the annual Stan Nagaiah Trophy.

In the opening match, Singapore, playing under the guidance of new coach Trevor Chappell, scored 225 for 7, Munish Arora top scoring with 76, but Malaysia chased down the target with nine wickets and 6.3 overs to spare, with Mohammad Shafiq scoring 117 not out. Malaysia then clinched the trophy with an eight-wicket victory in the second game when Singapore crashed to 169 all out. But half centuries from Munish Arora and Anish Param restored Singapore's pride to record a five-wicket win over Malaysia in the final match of the series.

"Most of the players are very talented and it's a shame that they ended up on the losing side," Chappell told the Singapore Cricket Association website. "One or two small things can all add up. But I am not disappointed. I have seen some areas which I know we can change in the lead-up to the World Cricket League Division 6 tournament coming up at the end of the month."

Malaysia and Singapore will compete alongside Bahrain, Botswana, Guernsey and Norway in the forthcoming ICC World Cricket League Division 6 tournament.