Morgan named in one-day squad

Eoin Morgan reverse sweeps against Surrey Getty Images

Eoin Morgan has been included in England's one-day squad for the series against West Indies alongside his selection for the ICC World Twenty20. Ian Bell has been recalled, while Matt Prior retains his 50-over wicketkeeping role and Tim Bresnan follows Test selection with a call-up.

Andrew Strauss leads what is a far less adventurous squad than the Twenty20 party announced earlier today, with Morgan the most eye-catching name. Andrew Flintoff has been ruled out after knee surgery although the selectors are confident he will be fit for the ICC World Twenty20.

Ryan Sidebottom, who has recovered from his Achilles operation, replaces Steve Harmison from the squad that won 3-2 in West Indies while a fit-again Graeme Swann is back in place of Gareth Batty.

The wicketkeeping position continues to be a hotly-debated position and Prior has been retained ahead of James Foster who got the nod for the Twenty20. It looks likely that Prior will bat in the middle order after Strauss and Ravi Bopara formed the opening partnership in West Indies.

Squad Andrew Strauss (capt), Ravi Bopara, Ian Bell, Owais Shah, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Matt Prior, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Ryan Sidebottom, James Anderson