Mitchell Johnson will return to Australia's one-day squad after resting while the young opener David Warner has been retained for the final three games of the campaign against South Africa. The series is level at 1-1 and Johnson, who has grown in to the side's leading fast man due to injuries to Brett Lee and Stuart Clark, will provide some extra power for a fresh attack that has suffered bouts of punishment.

Johnson has not bowled since the SCG Test at the start of the month and replaces Ryan Harris, who collected 1 for 54 on debut in the five-run win in Hobart on Sunday. Johnson, who will play in the third game in Sydney on Friday, took on a huge workload during the Test series against New Zealand and South Africa and led the attack with 31 wickets at 19.16 in the five games. It was a demanding lift in intensity for Johnson, who has been in the Test side for only 13 months.

Harris is now free to play in Queensland's Twenty20 preliminary final against Victoria at the Gabba on Wednesday, but no other member of the national squad will be released despite pleas from Queensland. "We have been very impressed with his efforts and attitude during limited opportunities," Andrew Hilditch, the chairman of selectors, said of Harris. "We are certain he will continue to push for Australian selection in the future."

Warner, the New South Wales 22-year-old, has single-figure scores in two matches since posting 89 in his Twenty20 international debut. He is expected to continue to open with Shaun Marsh, who has consecutive half-centuries, for the next two matches before the selectors decide on the outfit for the final fixture in Perth.

Australia squad Shaun Marsh, David Warner, Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Cameron White, Brad Haddin (wk), James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Hauritz, Nathan Bracken, Ben Hilfenhaus, Shaun Tait.