Martin van Jaarsveld was named the Professional Cricketers' Association Player of the Year at a glitzy dinner in London on Monday.
van Jaarsveld scored more than 1000 runs in the Championship but was unable to prevent Kent being relegated. He was also prolific in limited-overs cricket, cracking four centuries and 660 runs in nine innings as Kent reached the FP Trophy final which they lost to Essex.

Essex's Ravi Bopara, who earlier in the day was left out of England's Test squad for the India tour, was named Young Player of the Year. It was the second award in a month for Bopara who was also named the Cricket Writers' Club Young Cricketer of the Year.

There was a special award for Mark Ramprakash to mark him reaching 100 first-class hundreds, while Darren Gough and Graeme Hick, who both retired at the end of the season, received PCA Special Merit Awards.

PCA MVP 2008 Martin van Jaarsveld

MCC Spirit of Cricket Moment 2008 Matt Prior (Sussex)

PCA Special Merit Award 2008 Darren Gough (Yorkshire) and Graeme Hick (Worcestershire)

PCA Umpire of the Year Neil Mallender

Sky Sport Sixes League 2008 Graham Napier (Essex)

County Championship MVP 2008 Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)

Friends Provident Trophy MVP 2008 Martin van Jaarsveld

Pro40 MVP 2008 Steve Davies (Worcestershire)

Twenty20 MVP 2008 Graham Napier

Team of the Year Marcus Trescothick (Somerset), Joe Denly (Kent), Mark Ramprakash (Surrey), Martin Van Jaarsveld (Kent), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), James Foster (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Steve Harmison (Durham).