Mithali Raj to lead India women in England

India have announced their women's squad for the tour of England which begins on August 26. Mithali Raj has been named captain of the 15-member squad, which does not include Anjum Chopra and Preeti Dimri, who were among the 30 probables after being left out of the Asia Cup in May.

The squad includes two spinners, Neetu David and Seema Pujare, who made a memorable debut in the Asia Cup, where she ended up leading the wicket-taker's list with 14 from five games at 8.57. Jhulan Goswami, one of the fastest bowlers on the women's circuit, leads the pace attack, which comprises four others - Rumeli Dhar, Amita Sharma, Snehal Pradhan and Devika Palshikar.

The squad was picked at a women's selection committee meeting at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore and will by coached by Shanta Rangaswamy. Sandhya Agarwal has been appointed the manager of the squad.

India and England are scheduled to play five one-day internationals and a Twenty20 between August 30 and September 9. The tour kicks off with the first one-day international in Bath.

Squad: 1 Mithali Raj (capt), 2 Jhulan Goswami, 3 Jaya Sharma, 4 Karuna Jain, 5 Sulakshana Naik, 6 Hemlata Kala, 7 Rumeli Dhar, 8 Asha Rawat, 9 Priyanka Roy, 10 Devika Palshikar, 11 Neetu David, 12 Seema Pujare, 13 Gauhar Sultan, 14 Amita Sharma, 15 Snehal Pradhan.