Neetu David returns to Indian squad for Asia Cup

While one senior player returned to the national squad, another made an exit when India's squad for the women's Asia Cup was announced today. Neetu David, who had retired from international cricket in 2006, was included in the 15-member squad after she decided to reverse her decision one and half months back. Meanwhile Anjum Chopra, who won India's highest sporting achievement award last year, was dropped in favour of younger players.

"I had retired for personal reasons," David told Cricinfo. "But many people told me that I should return to play, that I was needed by the team. I thought as well that I still had enough cricket left in me, so I am back."

David's inclusion means Priti Dimri, the left-arm spinner who David had stepped aside for two years ago, has been left out. But young legspinner Thirush Kamini has been retained in the squad while offspinner Nooshin Al Khadeer has been replaced by debutant Seema Pujare.

Other newcomers include Under-21s Priyanka Roy, Snehal Pradhan, Gouher Sultana and Anagha Deshpande. Asha Rawat returns to the side after last playing in England in 2006.

The Asia Cup includes four teams - India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh - this year and will be hosted by Sri Lanka.

India squad:
Mithali Raj (capt), Jhulan Goswami, Jaya Sharma, Karuna Jain (wk), Amita Sharma, Devika Palshikar, Rumeli Dhar, Thirush Kamini, Neetu David, Seema Pujare, Snehal Pradhan, Gouher Sultana, Anagha Deshpande, Asha Rawat, Priyanka Roy.