Two new faces for Australia's tour to New Zealand

Australia's women's selectors have made two changes for the tour to New Zealand after the side drew the one-day series and lost a Test to England this month. Western Australia's Renee Chappell, an allrounder, and Delissa Kimmince, a fast bowler from Queensland, are in line for debuts while Jodie Purves, the batsman who has recovered from a broken thumb, has held her spot in the 14-strong outfit.

Kris Britt, the South Australia allrounder, and the opener Melissa Bulow have been cut as Australia attempt to retain the Rose Bowl after winning last year's contest 3-2. The team will play five one-day internationals at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Christchurch after the tour opens with a Twenty20 International at the same ground on March 6.

"The series provides us with an opportunity to bring in new players and see what they can add to the squad in the lead-up to the World Cup next year," the chair of selectors Margaret Jennings said. "Both Delissa and Renee have been selected to fill positions we feel need improving.

"The players excluded from the squad are not out of World Cup calculations by any means, but they will need to go away and work hard to earn another opportunity. The selectors are looking for a consistency of performance from the team and to maintain that standard. We're looking to find players who are capable of producing those performances."

Australia squad Shelley Nitschke, Alex Blackwell, Karen Rolton (capt), Lisa Sthalekar, Kate Blackwell, Renee Chappell, Jodie Purves, Ellyse Perry, Leonie Coleman (wk), Sarah Edwards, Sarah Andrews, Kirsten Pike, Emma Sampson, Delissa Kimmince.

Twenty20 International, March 6

Rose Bowl Series
1st ODI, March 8
2nd ODI, March 9
3rd ODI, March 12
4th ODI, March 15
5th ODI, March 16