Rohit Sharma fined for dissent

Rohit Sharma was fined 10% of his match fee for dissent after being incorrectly judged caught behind for 0 off Muttiah Muralitharan at the Gabba. Sharma was the second India batsman to remain camped to the crease following his dismissal over the past six weeks, but his punishment was stronger than Yuvraj Singh's following an in-depth pre-series discussion on behaviour by Jeff Crowe, the match referee.

Crowe found Sharma, a first offender, guilty under section 1.3 of the ICC's code of conduct for "excessive, obvious disappointment at an umpire's decision and an obvious delay in leaving the wicket". The Sri Lankans were convinced Sharma had edged the ball to Kumar Sangakkara, but the replays showed Rudi Koertzen made a serious error.

"The only reason I appeal is if I think the batsman's nicked it," Sangakkara said after the match. "I appeal and wait for a decision."

Sharma, the No. 5, eventually departed after facing only two balls, but the decision did not affect the result as India reached 4 for 267 before rain ended the match. In the first Test of the series in Melbourne in December, Yuvraj escaped a similar charge when it was ruled he showed extreme disappointment rather than dissent following a catch to Adam Gilchrist.