Groupings for 2009 ICC World Twenty20 fixed

Twenty20 champions India have been grouped with Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in the first round of the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 which the ICC revealed today.

The ICC fixed the groups based on the positions the teams finished in the 2007 tournament in South Africa because not enough Twenty20 matches have been played to establish official rankings. Australia are in the toughest group - on paper - along with Sri Lanka and West Indies.

The ICC board discussed the groupings early after a request by the England board, which will host the event, so allow it to proceed with the bidding process for sponsors.

The groups (with 2007 finishing positions in brackets):

Group A
India (1)
Bangladesh (8)
Zimbabwe (9)

Group B
Pakistan (2)
England (7)
Associate 1 (10)

Group C
Australia (3)
Sri Lanka (6)
West Indies (11)

Group D
New Zealand (4)
South Africa (5)
Associate 2 (12)