Christchurch and Auckland will not host Tests when Bangladesh and England visit later this year. The grounds Jade Stadium and Eden Park have lost out because of an apathetic fan base, with smaller stadiums given the nod as New Zealand try to hide dwindling Test crowds. Both evenues will, however, hold Twenty20s for each series.

Justin Vaughan, the board's chief executive, told the New Zealand Herald the two grounds could gain the Tests back one day, but that New Zealand Cricket would prefer Tests "to be at the right sorts of venues where there is some atmosphere, not just an empty cauldron".

New Zealand will host five Tests and ten limited-overs matches when Bangladesh and England tour in 2007-08. England will arrive in January for a visit including three Tests, two Twenty20s and five ODIs while Bangladesh's serious duties begin on Boxing Day.

Bangladesh will appear in three one-day internationals and two Tests on their first trip to New Zealand since 2001-02, when they lost both Tests. The opening Test starts on January 4 at Dunedin, which has not been used in this format since 1996-97, and the second match will be at Wellington's Basin Reserve from January 12.

"Bangladesh showed at the World Cup that they are a steadily improving side who can be dangerous if underestimated," New Zealand Cricket's chief executive Justin Vaughan said. "With matches at key locations during the holiday period we expect the Bangladesh tour to be well supported."

New Zealand and England will be familiar opponents in 2008, with this series followed almost immediately by the return leg. "This is a comprehensive tour by England and we are expecting a large number of English fans," Vaughan said. "The series will build on our traditional rivalry with them ahead of the tour there in May next year."

The Test series begins at Hamilton on March 5 and the remaining two matches will be at Wellington and Napier.

Bangladesh itinerary
December 26, 1st ODI, Auckland
December 28, 2nd ODI, Napier
December 31, 3rd ODI, Queenstown
January 4-8, 1st Test, Dunedin
January 12-16, 2nd Test, Wellington

England itinerary
February 5, 1st Twenty20, Christchurch
February 7, 2nd Twenty20, Auckland
February 9, 1st ODI, Wellington
February 12, 2nd ODI, Hamilton
February 15, 3rd ODI, Auckland
February 20, 4th ODI, Napier
February 23, 5th ODI, Christchurch
March 5-9, 1st Test, Hamilton
March 13-17, 2nd Test, Wellington
March 22-26, 3rd Test, Napier