Morgan to succeed Mali as president

David Morgan, the chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board, will succeed Ray Mali as the president of the ICC, it was announced today. Morgan, whose appointment was decided at the ICC's annual conference will begin his two-year tenure in June 2008, when Mali's stint as chairman comes to an end.

Sharad Pawar, the president of the Indian board, will succeed Morgan in June 2010.

Morgan will now become the president-elect while Pawar takes over as vice-president. Pawar will become the president-elect and retain his post of vice-president once Morgan takes charge. Morgan will also be expected to give up his ECB role in keeping with ICC policy that the president and the person chosen to succeed him should not represent a Member at the same time as holding those offices. Pawar will do likewise with his role within the BCCI in 12 months.

The ICC's governance review committee decided to limit presidential terms to two years with no option of a third year in office. It also decided to revert to the rotation system previously employed to select future ICC presidents. The rotation will now take place between six groups/regions: England/West Indies; India/Sri Lanka; Australia/New Zealand; Pakistan/Bangladesh; South Africa/Zimbabwe; Associates/Affiliates

In a statement released by the ICC, Morgan said his priority over the next few weeks would be to complete his work with the ECB and work out a succession procedure.

Pawar reacted to the decision by saying: "I am happy with the approach taken by the governance review committee to resolve the issue of succession and I believe David Morgan and myself have readily accepted those proposals in a sporting manner."

Other decisions taken by the ICC

Volume of cricket

The ICC board noted the views of the ICC cricket committee in relation to this matter and directed ICC management to produce a draft international program which should:

  • Be fair and equitable to all sides requiring all Full Members to play each other once at home and once away over the life cycle of the Future Tours Program (FTP).

  • Introduce a limit to the numbers of Test matches, ODIs and T20 matches sides may play in any one series.

  • Provide for two "icon" series, between Australia and England and India and Pakistan to take place every two years.

  • Restrict to a maximum of seven the number of Twenty20 internationals that any international side can play in a year (excluding ICC events).

  • Any additional matches or series scheduled would be considered to fall outside the FTP and must have no impact on it in order to be confirmed.

  • Once produced, the draft program will then be reviewed by the ICC board, although possible implementation, if appropriate, may be delayed due to members' existing commercial arrangements.

    Review of the 2007 World Cup

    Three reports are currently being prepared by the following groups:

  • ICC management, including feedback from all 16 team managements that took part in the tournament; ICC CWC; West Indies Cricket Board/CARICOM

  • There was general agreement that future World Cups should not exceed five weeks in duration. The format of future tournaments will be debated at the next meeting of the ICC board, scheduled for late October.

    Changes to playing conditions

    The following changes to playing conditions were agreed:

  • An additional fielder will be allowed outside the fielding circle during the second or third power play in a ODI.

  • If an ODI innings is reduced, the numbers of overs making up each of the three Powerplays shall be reduced proportionately.

  • If a bowler bowls a front foot no-ball in a ODI, the following delivery will be deemed a free hit and the batsman cannot be dismissed by the bowler from that delivery.

  • There will be a mandatory change of ball after 35 overs of each innings in a ODI; the replacement will be a clean used ball.
    Minimum boundary sizes in all international matches will be increased with the square boundary measuring at least 150 yards from one side of the ground to the other (minimum 65 yards on one side; previous total minimum size was 140 yards); and the straight boundaries 70 yards at both ends (previous minimum was 65 yards); maximum boundaries to be used allowing for three yards between boundary rope and advertising boards up to a maximum of 90 yards from the centre of the pitch.

    These changes will come into effect on 1 October 2007.

    Umpiring task force

    Further to a recommendation by the ICC cricket committee, it was agreed that this task force be formed with a view to enhancing the already high standards of officiating.
    The chief executives' committee, in its meeting on Sunday and Monday, felt the process should be chaired by a member of the ICC board with that person having a background in human resources. It was agreed by the board that Mr Morgan would chair the group.

    The task force will look to determine:

  • How best to structure the Emirates Elite and International panels

  • The support structures for the panel

  • Umpire remuneration levels and workloads

  • Policies for the selection and appointment of umpires to panels and matches, including the issue of neutrality

    New Members

    Cameroon, The Falkland Islands, Peru and Swaziland were all granted Affiliate Membership; this means the ICC now has 101 Members.
    Jersey was granted Associate Membership.