Indian board sets up committee to appoint coach

The Indian board (BCCI) has set up a seven-member committee to select the next coach of the Indian team.

A statement released by the BCCI today said the committee would meet at the earliest and give its recommendations to the board regarding the next coach or cricket manager for India. Dav Whatmore, the Bangladesh coach, has expressed an interest in coaching India and there are reports that Tom Moody, the Sri Lanka coach, is also being considered.

Sharad Pawar, the board president, will head the committee which also includes former captains Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri and S Venkataraghavan. N Srinivasan, BCCI treasurer, and MP Pandove, the joint secretary are also members of the committee while Niranjan Shah, the board secretary, will be its convenor.

After Greg Chappell quit as India's coach the board appointed Ravi Shastri as the side's manager for the tour to Bangladesh in May. But Shastri has reportedly informed the board that he would not be able to continue as manager after the tour because of his media commitments.

India will play three ODIs and two Tests between May 10 and May 29 in Bangladesh. In June they host the Afro-Asia Cup before heading off to England for three Tests and seven ODIs.