Kenya to play in Zimbabwe's Logan Cup

Cricket Kenya has confirmed to Cricinfo that it will be sending a side to participate in Zimbabwe's Logan Cup competition.

Zimbabwe Cricket officials claimed earlier this week that the Kenyan side would be taking part, but Cricinfo reported the invitation had come at the last minute and that Cricket Kenya said that several of its players were contracted to play in England and so would be unavailable. At that stage it seemed unlikely that any tour would take place.

ZC only issued the official fixtures on the day of the first round of matches, and there was no mention made of any Kenyan side, although with five provinces taking part, there was one team given a bye each round and they would have been free to play the Kenyans.

Cricinfo spoke to a senior Cricket Kenya official today and he said that the national selectors had met on Thursday and picked a 15-man squad to travel to Zimbabwe. While some of the more familiar names were absent, it was still a strong side based around the younger members of the World Cup squad under the captaincy of Collins Obuya.

ZC delivered the appropriate documentation to CK today and the itinerary was amended so that the Kenyans arrive in Harare on April 18 and travel to Bulawayo the following day. They will play their first match against Westerns at Bulawayo starting on April 20.

Kenyan squad Collins Obuya [capt], Maurice Ouma, David Oboya, Tamnay Mishra, Malhar Patel, Hiren Varayia, Alex Obanda, Rakeb Patel, Rajesh Bhudia, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Alfred Lausaeno, Elijah Otieno, Prasan Shrinivas, Sagar Kharia. 1st Reserve: Mansuk Naran.