Sri Lanka A players to be contracted

Members of the Sri Lanka A team will be contracted for the first time this year, a senior spokesman for Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced. At least 20 players, drawn mainly from the pool named for the up-coming unofficial two-Test series against Bangladesh A will figure in the contracts.

The contracts for one year will be handed out in three categories: category A will consist of US$5000, category B $4000 and category C $3000.

"We have decided to bring these players under contract in order to given them some sort of incentive and to ensure they continue with the game for a longer period of time," said a senior SLC official.

Sri Lanka A pool: Thilan Samaraweera (capt), Malinda Warnapura (vc), Mahela Udawatte, Michael Vandort, Chamara Kapugedara, Jehan Mubarak, Kaushal Silva (wk), Upul Chandana, Ishara Amarasinghe, Akalanka Ganegama, Sujeewa Silva, Rangana Herath, Kanchana Gunawardane, Ranga Dias, Tharanga Lakshita.