Cricket South Africa have announced the 25 players who will form the High Performance Programme for 2007. This is, in effect, an Academy style set-up consisting of players who have limited international experience or are just on the fringes of selection.
AB de Villiers, Boeta Dippenaar, Hashim Amla and Paul Harris, who all featured in the recent Test series against Pakistan, are all named along with Paul Adams who has been around the squad this season

Most of the players who featured on the recent A tour to Zimbabwe are included while Johan Botha, the offspinner who had to undergo remedial work on his action, is handed the chance to force his way back into the international frame.

Gerald Majola, CSA's chief executive, said: "Together with the national selection panel, we have chosen players who we believe have the potential to play international cricket successfully.

"They will undergo intensive specialist coaching to take them to the next level and there will focus on mental toughness. We will also add to the squad should other players put their hands during the current season. Further players will be invited to join the specialist camps as in the past.

He added that the board will keep tabs on the players who will be overseas in county cricket. "The [high performance] management will be monitoring their progress and slotting them into the local programme where appropriate.

"The composition of the squad is a graphic illustration that top class cricketers are emerging from all our communities. This augurs well for CSA's vision of making cricket a truly national sport of winners".

The squad begins work in May with a two-week camp before another five-day camp prior to leaving for the Emerging Players Tournament in Australia, held in Brisbane, which will also include India and New Zealand. In August there will be another camp before a series of three-day matches.

Squad Paul Adams, Hashim Amla, Gulam Bodi, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Con de Lange, AB de Villiers, Fredel de Wet, Boeta Dippenaar, JP Duminy, Paul Harris, Garnet Kruger, Arno Jacobs, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Alfonso Thomas, Thandi Tshabalala, Thami Tsolekeli, Johan van der Wath, Morne van Wyk, Monde Zondeki