West Indies finally name Indian tour side

West Indies have included uncapped Rayad Emrit in a 14-member squad for a series of four ODIs against India later this month. Emrit, the Trinidad and Tobago allrounder, is the only newcomer in a squad which sees recalls for Devon Smith and Darren Sammy.

"This is our last chance to look at a few players and they have included because you do not know what might happen in the next few weeks," Gordon Greenidge, the head selector, said. "We have a few injuries, and we want to have a look at a few players at international level to see what they have to offer."

Ramnaresh Sarwan has not fully recovered from a foot injury sustained on the tour of Pakistan, and he was not considered for selection.

The squad was chosen more than a week ago but there were delays as the West Indies Cricket Board and the West Indies Players' Association haggled over appearance fees. WIPA officials claimed that as the matches were not part of the ICC's Future Tours Programme extra payment was needed.

Greenidge added said that a provisional 30-man squad for the World Cup would be named on Saturday.

West Indies Brian Lara (captain), Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Rayad Emrit, Chris Gayle, Runako Morton, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor.