The Canadian squad to play in the inaugural World Cricket League in Kenya in late January and early February has been named. It includes 12 of the 14 players who recently played in South Africa.

Returning to lead the squad is allrounder John Davison. Two pace-bowlers supplement the squad - Austin Codrington returns while the experienced former West Indian international Anderson Cummins is set to make his debut for Canada. Questions may be raised about the wisdom of including Cummins, a 40-year-old who plays for Cavaliers in the Toronto and District Cricket Association but who has not played a high standard of cricket for more than a decade.

Sanjay Thuraisingham and Steve Welsh (flown in as a replacement) are the two players who played in South Africa that are not going to Kenya.

This is a key event for the six leading Associates. It not only provides warm-up opportunities on the road to the World Cup, but the top two sides will qualify for the ICC's new Twenty20 Championship in South Africa in September 2007. These sides will also receive significant extra funding from the ICC to help with preparations for that tournament.

Canada squad John Davison (capt), Kevin Sandher, Qaiser Ali, George Codrington, Desmond Chumney, Sundeep Jyoti, Don Maxwell, Abdool Samad, Henry Osinde, Austin Codrington, Ashish Bagai, Ashif Mulla, Sunil Dhaniram, Umar Bhatti, Anderson Cummins.