The fast bowler Tim Macdonald will make his debut for Western Australia in their Pura Cup match against New South Wales at the SCG starting on Friday. Macdonald has been called into the 12-man squad to replace Brett Dorey after concerns Dorey's minor knee complaint could affect his ability to play the full four days.

Macdonald, 26, is a right-arm swing bowler in his first year in the Warriors' squad. He claimed 12 for 88 including a first-innings hat-trick in the Western Australia Second XI's five-wicket win against the Victoria Second XI earlier this week.

The Warriors have also been forced to make four other changes, with Justin Langer, Adam Gilchrist, Michael Hussey and Damien Martyn all playing for Australia in the first Test at the Gabba. Shaun Marsh, Clint Heron, Adam Voges and Luke Ronchi have been brought into the squad.

New South Wales have named three spinners with Nathan Hauritz, who has not played a Pura Cup game this season, joining Stuart MacGill and Beau Casson in the Blues' 12-man squad. Hauritz has been impressive in the Ford Ranger Cup, where he has taken nine wickets at 17 in four matches for the New South Wales, but has played limited first-class cricket since making his Test debut for Australia in 2004.

He managed only one Pura Cup game for Queensland last season before moving to Sydney in May this year. MacGill has recovered from the nose injury he sustained during fielding practice on Saturday and will lead the Blues' spin attack.

Simon Katich and Nathan Bracken will add strength to the team after returning from Champions Trophy duty in India. Greg Mail has made way for Katich at the top of the order while Bracken replaces Stuart Clark, who is also playing in the Test match. Hauritz takes the place of the allrounder Moises Henriques, who has a leg injury. New South Wales are second on the Pura Cup table with two wins from three games. Western Australia have one draw and two losses to show from their first three matches.

New South Wales squad Phil Jaques, Simon Katich (capt), Ed Cowan, Dominic Thornely, Aaron O'Brien, Brad Haddin (wk), Beau Casson, Matthew Nicholson, Nathan Hauritz, Nathan Bracken, Doug Bollinger, Stuart MacGill.

Western Australia squad Chris Rogers, Clint Heron, Marcus North (capt), Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Luke Ronchi (wk), Brad Hogg, Aaron Heal, Shawn Gillies, Ben Edmondson, Steve Magoffin, Tim Macdonald.