Makhaya Ntini has been named one of South Africa's Five Cricketers of the Year for a record fifth time. Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla, Ashwell Prince and Mark Boucher are the others rewarded for their efforts over the last 12 months by the SA Cricket Annual.
The players collected their awards at the launch of the publication held at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg. 2005-06 wasn't a season packed with success for South Africa, but Ntini always led the attack in typically wholehearted style. He took 10 wickets in two consecutive Tests, against Australia and New Zealand, the first time a South African has managed the feat.

Steyn and Amla are included after promising returns to Test cricket following their stumbling debuts during the 2004-05 season, while Mark Boucher has been consistent with the bat and gloves. He hit the winning runs in that one-day international against Australia and a South African record 44-ball century against Zimbabwe.

Prince, meanwhile, became South Africa's first black captain when he led them in the Test series against Sri Lanka following injury to Graeme Smith.