India will play a tri-series against Australia and the West Indies in Singapore and Malaysia in September, ending weeks of speculation over the venue for the event.

Originally, India had agreed to meet West Indies in USA and Canada, and then that was switched to Canada, and even that was subsequently scrapped when venues could not be cleared in time.

The three teams will play each other twice before the top two meet in a final. The first three matches will take place in Singapore with the remaining four in Kuala Lumpur.

While there are not likely to be any issues with the Australian and Indian boards, the West Indies Cricket Board has some outstanding matters to resolve with its players. They claim that they were not consulted before the WICB agreed to the matches, which is against the arrangement between the board and the West Indies Players' Association.