Asia Cup to be held biennially

The Asia Cup will be played every alternate year and Pakistan will host the next round in 2008, as has been decided by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) in its annual general council meeting in Kuala Lampur. It will be the first time that Pakistan willl host the tournament.

Apart from that, as per the rotation policy, the presidency of the ACC will be handed over to Jayantha Dharmadasa, the Sri Lankan board president, Saleem Altaf, the PCB director-operations told Dawn. Dharmadasa will take over on July 1.

The 2006 Indian edition of the tournament was to be played in February, but was postponed to 2008 after the Indian board complained of an already hectic schedule for the season. Sri Lanka are defending champions of the cup, which they hosted in 2004.