Luke Williams wins Bradman Medal

Luke Williams, the captain of the Adelaide Buffalos, has won the 2006 Bradman Medal for South Australian grade cricketer of the year.

Williams, 26, polled 30 votes, seven clear of Mark Higgs from Northern Districts. He had an outstanding season for Adelaide scoring 820 runs at 117. Two members of the South Australian squad, Matthew Weeks and Gary Putland, both earned 22 votes, with Ben Johnson, the 2005 winner, getting 21.

Sturt won the team award, which goes to the side that polled the most player votes in the Bradman Medal count, while the Fred Godson Medal for XXXX Gold Cup player of the series went to Daniel Harris, the Woodville captain, ahead of Dean Waugh.

Full awards list

Bradman Medal - Luke Williams
Team Award - Sturt
Fred Godson Medal - Daniel Harris (Woodville)
C.W. Walker Memorial Trophy (outstanding wicketkeeper) - Todd Ferguson (Sturt)
Talbot Smith Fielding Trophy - Matthew Heffernan (Glenelg)
Coach of the Year - Bob Lisle (South Districts)
Women's player of the Year - Karen Rolton (Scorpions)
Vince Copley Medal (indigenous medal) - Shaun McLennan (Koonibba) and Ken Karpany (Gerard)
Team of the Year - Luke Williams (Adelaide), Glenn Ashmead (Sturt), Shane Deitz (Southern District), Todd Ferguson (Sturt), Jason Borgas (Sturt), Chris Slattery (University), Nathan Adcock (University, capt), Mark Barber (Kensington), Ben Johnson (Adelaide), Nick Roberts (University), Mark Higgs (Northern Districts), Jamie Panelli (Kensington)